Digital Reading-Summer reading

My first big goal for the new school year is to integrate more digital reading skills into the classroom (for more information about my thinking on this topic check out my blog post at: https://hwlearninglinks.wordpress.com/digital-reading/)

But then I stumbled across some great resources and decided to start now! Here are two great ways to get kids reading digitally this summer!

Instagram… who knew?!

I follow a great blog by a teacher with some amazing ideas: Hello Literacy (Jen Jones). She posted 7 Fun, Free, Easy Semi-Hidden Ways to keep kids reading in the summer. I was intrigued by her suggested Instagram follows. Now I am hooked!
Screen Shot 2015-06-25 at 3.17.50 PM I created an account and followed them all! This is very much like the dive-ins I had students participate in during the school year. We would examine an image, write about what we notice and what we can infer. The beautiful photos shared here are perfect for the same engagement OR to enjoy reading the informative captions provided. For a more creative engagement, let your child enjoy a photo or image and create the caption for it.

Wonderopolis

I admit that I saw this a few months ago but didn’t have a chance to really check it out. This morning as I scrolled through my Twitter feed I saw “today’s wonder” in a tweet.  WHY DIDN’T I EXPLORE THIS SITE SOONER!!!!  The daily wonder starts with questions…perfect for getting kids to activate their schema and think about the topic. Then the text is a great short read with vocabulary highlighted (definitions pop up when cursor is moved over the word). For less fluent readers, there is a “listen” option that reads aloud highlighting the information as it is read.  Then there are interactive elements like video clips, “test your knowledge” quiz, word challenge and more.  Short, fact filled, and engaging! Also very addicting!

So get started enjoying some digital reading with these great resources NOW!

 

Leave a comment